In May 1966 under an original idea of a young Sergeant, Timothy Finn of the NYPD and a group of other police officers, the Rockland County Shields was formed. 
            The Shields would be dedicated to providing a fraternal and social organization for all active and retired police officers who either worked or lived in Rockland County. The Shields would foster the fact that officers, be they Federal, State, City or Local, are all brothers. The Shields have maintained this over these last 50 years and today have over 1300 members.

           This fellowship is not only beneficial to Shields members but to all of the citizens of Rockland County. We have annual events to promote camaraderie, Communion Breakfast, Boulders Games, children’s Christmas Party, and dinner dances.  We award several scholarships to our children and hold several events to raise the funds, 
Westchester Dinner Theater and a Golf outing. We are also charitable with our emergency fund along with monies given to different good will organizations, like United Hospice, local school functions, Eagle Scout projects and try to help all those that seek our assistance.
           Since the Rockland County Shields was started in 1966 we have helped other counties form similar groups. They are the Orange County Shields, Sullivan County Shields, Ulster County Shields, Delaware County Shields and the New York Shields,which was originally the Westchester County Shields and was again stated under the 
Westchester- Putnam Shields. We are very proud of everything we do and this is accomplished with the help of the Executive Board and the participation of our membership.  

The first Executive Board members in 1966 were President Timothy Finn, 1st Vice-President Daniel O’Reilly, 2nd Vice-President Louis Corbo, 3rd Vice-President Thomas Kiggins, Secretary Joseph Doyle, Recording Secretary Dominick Coyne, Financial Secretary William Novotny, Treasurer Edward Clinton, Sgt at Arms Walter Moore,

Legal Consultant Herman VanDerlinde, Clarkstown Trustee James Finn, Orangetown Trustee Fred Alcaro,

Ramapo Trustee Al Benza, Haverstraw Trustee Steve Ryan and Stony Point Trustee John Bosworth. 

           The following have held the office of the President, Timothy Finn 66-67, Daniel O’Reilly 68-69, Edward Clinton 70-71, James Finn 72-73, Steven Ryan 74-75, Richard Tarbox 76-77, William Weber 78-79, Thomas Mullins 80-81, John Dillon 82-83, Vincent Coyne 84-85, Timothy Connolly Sr 86-87, James Doyle 88-89, Robert Dichiaro 90-91, Vincent White 92-93, William Coyne 94-95, Victor Reyes 96-97, Neil Sweeney 98-99, John Crapanzano 00-01, Jack Coleman 02-03, John Peluso 04-05, Timothy Connolly Jr 06-07, Jim Ferguson 08-09, Bill Ryan 10-11, John Pinto 12-13 ,Bob Varieur 14-15 and Mark Murphy 17-18.
            The current board serving 2018-2019 are President Ed Weireter, 1st Vice-President Keith Hansen, 2nd Vice-President  Lou Falco III, Treasurer Joe Cain, Secretary Lynn Hayes, Financial Secretary Jim Sciacca
1st Sgt at Arms Mike Heath, 2nd Sgt At Arms Dennis Dodrill, Editor Peg Varieur, Chaplain/Deacon George Albin, Orangetown Trustee Daniel Ryan, Clarkstown Trustee Chris Cortelli, Haverstraw Trustee Manny Figueroa,
Stony Point Trustee Bob Bertrand, Ramapo Trustee Michael Higgins, Trustee at Large Tim Connolly Jr, Health and Welfare John Dillon, Historian Jack Coleman and Past President Mark Murphy.
           I would like to point out that this is all volunteer work; we have monthly board meeting, newsletter stuffing and general membership meeting besides all of the time we spend in contact with one another or our members. 


​President                     Keith Hansen

1st Vice President      Christian Cortelli

2nd Vice President     Lou Falco III

Treasurer                     Joe Cain

Secretary                      Lynn Hayes

Financial Secretary      Jim Sciacca

1st Sgt. at Arms           Mike Heath

2nd Sgt at Arms           Dennis Dodrill

Editor                             Mark Swammy

Chaplain                        George Albin


Orangetown               Daniel Ryan

Clarkstown                 Gerry O'Connor

Haverstraw                  Manny Figueroa

Stony Point                  Bob Bertrand

Ramapo                        Mike Higgins    

Trustee at Large          Tim Connolly Jr

​Health and Welfare    John Dillon

​Historian                       Jack Coleman

Past President             Ed Weireter